What you need to know
- Google is apparently working on a “self-share” mode for Nearby Share.
- The feature will remove the requirement to approve an item for devices on the same account.
- The feature appears to already be available in Google Play Services, although it is not live just yet.
Nearby Share is perhaps one of the best Android features in recent years, making it easy to share content between devices. Still, there’s always room to improve, and it looks like Google is preparing to introduce a small but helpful feature that will make sharing between your own devices a bit quicker.
Mishaal Rahman, senior technical editor at Esper, spotted a new setting in Nearby Share for “Your devices.” When selecting your device visibility, this will limit sharing between devices signed in to the same Google Account as your phone. However, the best part is that this setting no longer requires receiving devices to approve the request.
Nearby Share’s “self-share” mode will let you quickly share files to other devices signed into the same Google account without needing to approve the share. This hasn’t rolled out yet from what I can see, but it’s present in the latest version of Google Play Services. pic.twitter.com/wdtxoiE2ozApril 19, 2022